Campus History

Sacred Heart School first opened its doors on September 9, 1953. Four Sisters of Mercy from Merion, Pennsylvania, opened Danville’s first and only Catholic School for 67 students in a Victorian house on Main Street. In decades that followed, Sacred Heart School grew and prospered.

Photo of 344 W. Main St.
Sacred Heart School, 1953.

In 1966, Sacred Heart School moved to its present location, a newly constructed building. Since then the facility has grown to accommodate the growing population through several additions. In 1999, a middle school wing that housed two offices, five classrooms, two computer labs, and an afterschool care room was built.

Photo of 708 Randolph St.
Sacred Heart School, 1966.

In 2001, the new church that adjoins the school was dedicated. In 2002, a new playground was constructed. The building underwent renovations in 2003 in order to update kindergarten and first grade classrooms. The bathrooms on the main hall, the office, and teachers’ lounge were also updated.

SHS 1976
Sacred Heart School, 1976.

In 2006 Sacred Heart School launched a Blue Ribbon Capital Campaign. The campaign has allowed the school to update the music program through the purchase of guitars and iPads, remodel the kitchen, and the library. In 2012 the school underwent technological updates. Today our campus boasts state of the art technology which includes three computer labs, PolyVision, Smartboards, and iPads.


Sacred Heart School
540 Central Blvd.
Danville, VA 24541
(434)793-2656

-Kira S. Kania, Principal